Crafts, Spoonies, Uncategorized, WIPs, Year of Finishes 2018

Year of Finishes 2022

Hey everyone! I’m keeping myself pretty busy (or as busy as I can when needing constant breaks) these days, but I wanted to very quickly pop in and let you all know I’m doing Year of Finishes again this year!

So if you don’t know, I participated in a thing called Year of Finishes around…I wanna say 2018 or so. (Or at least I tried.) Now I want to make it clear that originally Year of Finishes was not my creation. I can’t remember exactly who it was started by (closest I can remember is that it was started by the creator of Stitchingly around when the site opened). If you remember please leave a comment here so I can give credit where credit is due. But it was such a huge motivation for me that this year I can’t help but do it again. I have so many WIPs because the past few years has seen me get restless so much, just trying to deal with pain and illness while being stuck in my bed resting and wanting something to keep my hands busy. The WIPs just keep getting more and more out of hand as I get restless and want to start new things.

Who else has a craft corner that looks something like this?

So this is your invitation to join me. Do you have WIPs piling up by the dozens like I do? Restless because of the ongoing pandemic and bored by your old WIPs so you started new ones? Or so busy because of the pandemic that you had no time? Or how about just lost your mojo/cro-jo/sew-jo/whatever-jo? Want to be motivated to actually get something done and checked off your to-do list?

The best thing about this Year of Finishes is, there are very few rules. There are no project number restrictions – work on one single project or include 117 of your WIPs if you want. Your projects do not have to have been started prior to 2022 to qualify – unless you want to focus on solely old WIPs instead of new starts. You are not restricted from starting new projects in 2022 – unless you really want to keep yourself from starting something new, then we will cheer you on. You can even count new 2022 starts in your Year of Finishes count if you want – I know there are a few projects I have barely just started or plan on starting this month that I’m counting toward my goal. The whole point of the challenge is working toward finishing projects, whether they’re a day old or ten years old (or older).

As I go along, I may even share tips about organization, crafting with chronic illness…whatever strikes my fancy or seems like a good topic to cover.

Leave a comment here if you have any questions about this easy-going challenge, or you plan to participate along! And if you’re interested, I’m running the challenge in my Chronic and Crafty Facebook group right along with here on the blog – we’re a group of dedicated crafters who all deal with chronic health issues, so we talk about both! We’d love to have you join us.

If you’d like to follow along don’t forget to bookmark the blog or better yet, subscribe by email or through your WordPress account so you receive notifications when I make a new post. Soon I’ll be passing back through to show you a few of my projects I’m throwing into the challenge with intentions to finish (or at least get closer). And I promise, there’s…well, a lot. 😳

See you soon!

Leave a comment